6 July 2019 – International Dance Teachers Association

Additional information: This event is part of the IDTA congress.  Tickets on sale from the IDTA office 01273 685 652 from May 2019. Prize money – Winners: £200 plus £50 expenses and £50 per couple finalists. Modern, Latin, Classical and Fun Dance sections. 


Floral Hall, Southport Theatre & Convention Centre

Doors open:  8.45 am

Competition starts: 9.30 am

Finish time approx: 5 pm

Admission: available to all

Ticket Information: Competition IDTA members Free
Spectator non members £14, Non members competitors £18

Contact: Tickets and competition entry forms available from, Stephanie at the IDTA office on 01273 685 652, email s.james@idta.co.uk or download from website at www.idta.co.uk from May 2019.

Closing date 21 June 2019

Teaching of new dances: same day

Food Available: limited selection from bar

Parking: pay by the hour

2018 Winners

Classical Winner – Waferfront Waltz

Arranged by Barry Earnshaw and Beverley Murch-Fowkes

Latin Winner – Rumba Memoire

Arranged by Berry Earnshaw and Beverly-Murch-Fowkes

Modern Winner – Emerald Quickstep

Arranged by Tracy White and Andrea Wortley

Fun Dance Winner – Boogie Bosa Nova

Arranged by Tracy White and Andrea Wortley

2017 Winners

Classical Winner – Morningtown Blues


David Howker and Deborah Catlow

Music: The Best of The Seekers – Morning Town Ride

Modern Winner – Parklands Foxtrot


Barry Earnshaw and Beverly Murch-Fowkes

Music: Casa Musica Vol 8 : Nat King Cole Track 10 ‘That’s You’

Latin Winner – Jive Together


Alan and Eunice Lam

Music: Tony Gilbert, 1930’s The Age of Elegance CDTS 220 Track 18 ‘Just a Gigolo’

2016 Winners

Classical Winner – Saunter Samsara

Paul and Caroline Dellar

Arranged by Paul and Caroline Dellar

Modern Winner – Interval Waltz

Graham and Avril Watkins

Arranged by Graham and Avril Watkins

Latin Winner  – Tambora Mambo

Alan and Eunice Lam

Arranged by Alan and Eunice Lam

2015 Winners

Classical Winner

Lola Gavotte

Lola Gavotte Web

Arranged by Paul and Caroline Dellar

Modern Winner

Daiquiri Foxtrot

Daiquiri Foxtrot Web

Arranged by Duncan and Hannah Trever

Latin Winner

Red Ruby Jive

Red Ruby Jive web

Arranged by Peter and Yvette Harris

2014 Winners

Classical Winner:

Teal Tango

Teal Tango

Arranged by Ellen Harrison and Kelly Sloan

Modern Winner:

Angelite Waltz

Angelite Waltz

Arranged by Stuart Perry and Beverly Howard

Latin Winner:

Moonbeam Mambo

Moonbeam Mambo

Arranged by Peter and Yvette Harris

2013 Winners

Latin Winner:

Rumba Cascade

Barry Earnshaw and Beverley Murch-Fowkes

Music: Empress Dance band – Hushabye Outcast – Track 13 ‘I Dreamed A Dream’


Classical Winner:

Red Rose Gavotte

John and Ann Rainey

Music: Sydney Thompson – Old Tyme Hallmark 305172 – Track 2 ‘Gavotte From The Gondoliers’

Modern Winner:

Blue Topaz Foxtrot

Stuart Perry and Beverly Howard

Music: Empress Orchestra – Blackpool My Blackpool – The Music Now & Then WR2CD5036- CD1 – Track 13 ‘Somewhere In Time’