BATD Inventive Dance winners results

British Association of Teachers of Dancing Hosts Inventive Dance Competition in Glasgow
On Sunday, 16 June 2024, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Glasgow, the British Association of Teachers of Dancing (BATD) held its annual Inventive Dance Competition, a highlight of the Congress event. Though the competition saw only a few entries this year, the quality of the dances and performances was excellent, showcasing the talent and creativity of the dance professionals taking part.
David and Eileen Sharp emerged as double winners, capturing both the Worrall Trophy and the President’s Trophy. The Tuscon Tango secured their victory in the Classical Sequence section, while their Rumba Eileen earned them top honours in the Latin Sequence section.
The Modern Sequence section was equally competitive, with John and Ann Rainey taking home the BATD Trophy for their Dalesway Waltz. 
It was heartwarming to see so many friendly faces in Scotland, with many attendees returning to the event following a few years absence. The afternoon was expertly hosted by Tommy and Myra Smith as MCs. They provided a mix of both classic and up to date dances, creating a lively and welcoming atmosphere encouraging everyone to take to the floor.
While the journey to Glasgow might be long, the friendly welcome always makes it worthwhile. Congratulations to all the winners and thanks to the BATD committee for their hard work in organising the event. 
The next new dance competition event is the IDTA competition on the 6th July. See you there!
For more details, please visit the competition page.
1e7f5eb3 4f75 43e0 b1c7 7873e9a6479e 2

Adjudicators for the day.